Shows & Happenings

Hot Stuff: The 89th Oscars Just Dethroned Miss Universe In The Faux Pas Department

Hot Stuff: The 89th Oscars Just Dethroned Miss Universe In The Faux Pas Department

Sometimes, two takes are needed to get things right... that was the case for the 89th Oscars.

In an unexpected twist, presenters Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway announced La La Land as winner for Best Picture, where it was supposed to be Moonlight. The root of the faux pas was caught by some eagle-eyed viewers, as Beatty and Dunaway were seen holding the Best Actress, and not the Best Picture, envelope. Those watching simply could not believe that a “Steve Harvey moment" happened during the Oscars—a first for the awards show.



[related: In Focus: The Miss Universe "Plot Twist" That's The Perfect Christmas Gift For Pinoys]


Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, and Marc Platt, La La Land's producers, went on to correct what has to be the most embarrassing moment in the history of the Oscars (such good sports, these guys!).

"We lost, by the way," Berger said.

"There's a mistake. 'Moonlight,' you guys won best picture. This is not a joke," Horowitz seconded.

Regardless of what really happened, all is well between the cast and crew of La La Land and Moonlight.



"Very clearly in my dreams, this could not be true. But to hell with dreams, I'm done with it, because this is true," Moonlight director and writer Barry Jenkins said in his acceptance speech.


Here are the other winners of the 89th Academy Awards:

Director: Damien Chazelle, La La Land.

Actor: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea.

Actress: Emma Stone, La La Land.

Supporting Actor: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight.

Supporting Actress: Viola Davis, Fences.

Original Screenplay: Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea.

Adapted Screenplay: Moonlight

Foreign Language Film: The Salesman. Iran.

Production Design: La La Land. Production Design: David Wasco; Set Decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco.

Cinematography: Linus Sandgren, La La Land.

Sound Mixing: Hacksaw Ridge. Kevin O'Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace.

Sound Editing: Arrival. Sylvain Bellemare.

Original Score: La La Land Justin Hurwitz.

Original Song: City of Stars from La La Land. music by Justin Hurwitz, lyric by Ben Pasek and Justin Paul.

Costume Design: Colleen Atwood, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

Documentary (short subject): The White Helmets. Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara.

Documentary Feature: O.J.: Made in America. Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow.

Film Editing: Hacksaw Ridge. John Gilbert.

Makeup and Hairstyling: Suicide Squad. Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson.

Animated Feature Film: Zootopia. Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer.

Animated Short Film: Piper. Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer.

Live Action Short Film: Sing. Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy.

Visual Effects: The Jungle Book. Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon.


ALSO READ: Hot Stuff: "Mula Sa Buwan," A Love Story That's More Than What Meets The Eye 


Banner photo: Fred Berger, producer of "La La Land," foreground center, gives his acceptance speech as members of PricewaterhouseCoopers, Brian Cullinan, holding red envelope, and Martha L. Ruiz, in red dress, and a stage manager discuss the best picture announcement error among the cast at the Oscars on Sunday, Feb. 26, 2017, at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. The actual winner of best picture went to "Moonlight." (Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP)




The Writer

View All

Recommended from Other ABS-CBN Websites